PSD Issue #02

As with the last one, EFM gets it some hours earlier. Consider yourself blessed.

Also, as opposed to all previous PSDs, including the old series, I seem to be forming a coherent plot, the next episode of which is already in my mind. To the drawing board!

  1. Unexpected twist!

    There is apparently a skilled Garry’s Mod comic maker that can actually keep a schedule in here. I just didn’t know of it earlier!

    Good job, mate. I’m loving these.

      • Althir
      • August 18th, 2011

      Yeah, I keep to my “whenever I feel like it” schedule perfectly and I promise that I will never once publish one later than intended.

      • You just want me to feel like the less talented guy of my own group.

        And, truth be told, if that means this level of quality, I’m all for being the worst!

    • Althir
    • August 18th, 2011

    Mythos :

    You just want me to feel like the less talented guy of my own group.

    And, truth be told, if that means this level of quality, I’m all for being the worst!

    I’m truly flattered. I never saw my comics as anywhere above average (well, at least until the time I left Facepunch, with all the “butthurt” trolls invading).

    • Well, if you ask me “Am I on the level of Chris Livingston, creator of Concerned?”, I’d say no. But then again, that guy has a category all for himself in my book.
      Are you on the level of, say, Michael Clements and his Sketch series? Yes, you are. And that’s saying a lot given the state of the communities.

        • Althir
        • August 18th, 2011

        Truth be told, Livingston’s posing isn’t all that great. Especially when a character is running. I love his simple and clean layout though, and obviously the incredible humour. In fact, Concerned was my main reason to even download GMod back in 2006/07.

  2. Althir :

    Truth be told, Livingston’s posing isn’t all that great. Especially when a character is running. I love his simple and clean layout though, and obviously the incredible humour. In fact, Concerned was my main reason to even download GMod back in 2006/07.

    It’s not really fair to look back considering the different standards. Remember Apostasy? That was my favorite comic back in the day and the inspiration to treat Garry’s Mod as something that could be used for a good, serious story.
    Thing is, when I started getting some experience with comic making, I went back to read it and noticed how awful posing and editing were at times. Even the writing, when it used Alyx or other Half-Life 2 characters, fell a bit short at times.

    Back in those days, good writing was the priority and it really elevated the rest. Nowadays it’s the opposite; people spend more time doing random screenshots than actually trying to come up with a storyline. I’d much prefer the former, if I must say.

      • Althir
      • August 18th, 2011

      I usually build my screenshots around a simple idea and then the dialogue around those screenshots, the narrative doesn’t really have much priority there.
      Also, in case you’re wondering: Since Hkjgh is apparently becoming a major character, he will appear in about every episode and thus you’ll be the target of special thanks for the whole series. Can you live with that? (It’s actually not because it’s you, for the entire run of the original PSD I had Megadudex1 mentioned because he made the old Joey skin)

      • Sure, but you don’t need to credit me so much for just one skin. It’s yours now, don’t worry about it.
        That said, Hkjgh is really the breakout star, even if I need to double-spellcheck his name every time I type it.

        By the way, here’s a secret of the trade: I write the dialogue after editing as well. Usually I have the plot in my head without concrete dialogue; I start to get the idea of the layout as I pose, then, as I build the pages, I write the dialogue. That’s the reason why the dialogue can be so horrendous in some of my comics.
        That’s also why my super-secret project you know about but others don’t will take long: I’m actually writing scripts. It’s somewhat fun, but also tedious.

    • Arctic Avenger
    • August 18th, 2011

    Girsl, girls, you’re both pretty.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

