YOUR opinion counts!

Hello there! How do you do? I would like to take this opportunity to discuss a few things, if I may.

First, I’d like to reflect on our latest comic release. If my Math is right, SUBPRIME: Episode Two has reached 371 views by now, from the view counts in Facepunch, the Brain Dead Union, DeviantART and, obviously, here, with 63% of the views coming from Facepunch (234). That’s not too bad, although a far cry from the success of some of my other comics. Maybe I’ve just lost my touch, maybe my inactivity translated into a loss of popularity, who knows.
That said, usually what counts are replies, not views – and, in that regard, results are somewhat mixed. That’s not to say it hasn’t been well-received, on the contrary; all reactions have been incredibly positive. Nevertheless, only a few people cared enough to post a reply – six posts commenting the comic on Facepunch, four on Brain Dead Union, and just two on DeviantART, obviously not counting off-topic remarks.
I don’t make comics so they get publicized and people claim I’m good, but it’d be nice to know some more people liked them, so it’s a bit disappointing when only a few bother to comment. I’d rather take some harsh but constructive criticism than the naysayers staying silent and letting it fall into obscurity. It’s not gonna stop me, of course, and I’m hoping some of my more ambitious projects might kick off and get some more word-of-mouth.

Speaking of criticism, the second part of the post: I’ve never been too fond of the derivative logo I first created for EFM, something that fellow member Lt_Commander agreed on, so I’ve had a few attempts over the year to redesign it. I decided to share my latest version and see what you guys think.
Here’s the original logo:

And here’s the new versions I’ve made. They’re not terribly original either, I guess, and pretty simplistic, but maybe that’s the right direction to take.
The first one is the general logo for the group:

And here’s the version for comics, which is pretty much the same thing, but with a subtitle for good measure:

What do you think? Sleek, or too simple? Maybe just forgettable? Sound off in the comments, please. Oh, and if our resident designer is interested, I’d be happy to see what ideas he can come up with!

Lastly, some personal news: I bought Poker Night in the Inventory and got addicted. I could imitate Althir’s quick reviews, but, seeing as I don’t have that much experience with poker videogames and I’m terrible at the stuff anyway, I’ll just say I enjoy it and that, if you like good dialogue, you should check it out. It’s cheap and fun!
I also caved in and got some Team Fortress 2 hats… but they were the cheap ones! Two for 1,48€, not exactly a hole in my pocket – though still a waste of money on aesthetic videogame items. I know, shame on me.

    • Arctic Avenger
    • July 27th, 2011

    My money is on the original logo.

    BTW. If you zoom in, you can see a couple of bags with money, with MY name on them. I’m just sayin’.

    • Arctic Avenger
    • July 27th, 2011

    I like the original better.

    • Althir
    • July 27th, 2011

    I like the “sleek” version, but I have to say it maybe lacks a little contrast. I’ll fire up Blender 3D now, see what I can come up with. Maybe something with lace. Lace is totally in right now.

    • CJR
    • July 27th, 2011

    I’ll be honest, I prefer the original – it’s more eye-catching. Not wanting to knock the effort you put into making a new one, but it doesn’t really stand out, it looks like some 80s brand name.

    Also, the only reason I didn’t comment on your comic on the BDU was because I commented here and thought that repeating myself would be annoying…

    • Oh, that’s perfectly okay! I was referring more to Facepunch, really; there’s a load of users there, but I only got less than a handful of replies. It was disappointing.

      Thanks for the feedback! That’s two-to-one now. Althir has already made some variations himself, and some resemble a mix of both logos. I think that’s the right approach, and I’ll be sharing his versions as well if he allows.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

