Lou Collins: Man of War

Oh wow, garrysmod comics?

Yes.

I have here a set of comics that have been a work in progress for me. They represent more or less all the comic making energy I’ve put forth since January. The story follows the not-so-canon adventures of Louis T. Collins in the Half-Life/ Half-Life 2 universe, set almost completely in the roughly 20 year gap in the story between the two games. Because I have a planned between 9 and 15 small comic length stories in the entire saga, I decided to release them as I make them. Until now, I felt they were a little too bare-bones to be released as a comic, but with my 4th “Issue” I figure it’s time to call it my main story, at least until I revisit Continent 4 or Star Trek: Intrepid, my two other flagship series.

And that’s it for the comic for now. I’ll post more updates as they come.

As a sort of exclusive, I decided to give a small biography to Lou Collins, one that will be eventually fleshed out in comic form, but I feel help in understanding the motivations for his actions.

Louis Collins is, at his core, an arms dealer. Born in 1976, the climate of the 21st century world he came to power in is slightly different then our own, a post “Black Mesa Incident” environment where headcrabs and bullsquid roam the now abandoned suburbs. Although he has done some things you’d expect from arms dealer, like fueling African wars and supplying both sides, he’s most known for making military grade weapons available to the average American citizen, after the advent of portal storms. Although controversial, his practices made him both rich and famous. In Q1 2010, he was listed as a defense contractor or weapons supplier to at least 40% of all nations globally, his conglomerate was worth 170 billion USD, and was personally listed as #97 on the Forbes 400, making the cover of the 2003 edition.

After the war, he was put back into essentially the same position by the combine. Most of these comics deal with that, mostly by revisiting contacts and locations from before the war. The comic, more than anything, is about change and consequences. I hope the finished product will reflect that.

    • CJR
    • June 10th, 2011

    Been following this on Facepunch. Pretty awesome stuff; there aren’t many Gmod comics this good any more!

    • Althir
    • June 10th, 2011

    This is very interesting…. and undoubtably very well made.

  1. Oh hey, you posted this on EFM! Awesome!

    I’ll be honest, I did not see the end of Part 4 coming; figured you’d be introducing a character to last some issues. So I guess that scene had the intended shock effect!
    By far one of the most interesting comics I’ve seen since 2007. It makes me very glad to know it’s not all interactives and crappy stuff done in two hours in the current Garry’s Mod community. Keep it up, man!

    • Arctic Avenger
    • June 11th, 2011

    hmmmm

    I don’t see a winner button.

    • There’s a Like button, buddy. 🙂

        • Arctic Avenger
        • June 12th, 2011

        Just between you and me. You have to admit. The first comic was more of a joke.

  2. Arctic Avenger :

    Just between you and me. You have to admit. The first comic was more of a joke.

    Uh, this is a comments section, it’d never be “between you and me”.
    And no, I don’t “have to admit”, because I disagree. It didn’t seem like too much of a joke to me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

