No way!

Yes way. Once more I was blessed with more games to play. In other words, they finally shipped all the way from northern England. Three games this time, compressed in two boxes.

Halo 3

It had to come, had it not? I mean, I have Halo, I have Halo 2, I have Halo 3 ODST… so there we finally go. Halo 3 in all it’s gorgeous graphics and impeccable gameplay. Okay, “impeccable” is probably a bit of an exaggeration, but you get my point. The level design aside (it is a wholly different setting), Halo 3 looks mostly like ODST (which was originally supposed to be an expansion to Halo 3 anyway). I play on normal (mostly because easy unlocks no achievements) and it almost appears as though the Master Chief himself can take less abuse than these puny ODST guys – his shields drain quick and when they are down, a few more shots kill you. Aw. But okay, a little challenge is always appreciated. Now I have Halo 3 installed no less than twice – once Halo 3 Mythic and once plain old Halo 3. Why didn’t I uninstall Mythic, the multiplayer part that came with ODST? Well, because Mythic contains more maps, simple as that.

Rating: Recommended!
It is, without a doubt, not much different from ODST and only slightly more so from Halo 2, but it is still a very, very good shooter, I think one of the best on the Xbox 360 to this day.

F.E.A.R. Files

F.E.A.R. Files does, sadly, not contain the original F.E.A.R., which is reportedly rather scarce on the Xbox and as a result of that, quite expensive. The two expansions – well, one of them is an expansion, the other a stand-alone game – Extraction Point and Perseus Mandate are pressed on this single disc, also containing a few more Instant Action maps than the PC-version of Perseus Mandate. Instant Action are maps that contain no story elements, just action, action, action. Because that was rather rare in the original game, I once attempted to make a mod to fix it. The AI is a bitch to work with, especially robots. Hehe. But on with it: The games are not nearly as good as F.E.A.R., but they do still contain it’s signature fast gameplay and slow slow motion. The speed was something I really missed in Project Origin, so this is refreshing. But I’ll be damned if it’s not a lot harder than it’s PC counterpart. Holy crapness.

Rating: Recommended!
Has little of the appeal of the original game, but the gameplay makes up for a lot (Yes, I am biased in that regard).

To install F.E.A.R. Files, I had to delete a game from the hard disk. After one and a half years, the 120GB HD was finally full. And if I ever want to play Arkham Asylum again, well, I can either just play it off the disc or delete, say, BioShock or whatever game feels right to delete.

On an unrelated side note, I have recently, four and a half years and three machines after I first bought it, legitimately beaten Half-Life 2. About time, aye?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

