Otherwise Damn Stupid Title

I have to admit, the very title of this post is a bad pun in itself, for it abbreviates to ODST. Which is the name of my most recent Xbox addition. You know what follows, aye?

But since this is the only one, I’ll go a bit more into detail if you don’t mind.

HALO 3: ODST


Halo 3 was a massive success. Halo is, the way I see it, the one thing that really sets the Xbox 360 apart from the PS3. Does the PS3 even have a comparable franchise? I don’t know, but I don’t have a PS3 so I don’t think I have to know. Now, on the Classic Xbox I have an OEM-version of Halo: Combat Evolved and the Limited Collectors Edition of Halo 2. That is pretty odd, isn’t it? I mean, the cheapest version of one game and the most expensive of the other? But whatever. What made Halo Halo was the gameplay, not the story, and to some extent the design. The Master Chief is a badass by design, the regenerating armor is something that found it’s way into almost every shooter by now. Halo is what revolutionized console shooters and it is the one thing PC gamers are jealous about. Well, there’s probably more (Games on Demand, frame rates, etc.) but you get my point.

In Halo 3: ODST you do not play as the Master Chief. You play as one of the guys that piss you off throughout the other games by getting in the way when you shoot and out of the way when your enemies shoot. More specifically, you’re an ODST. It’s up to you to google what that means, it’s a squad that drops from the fucking sky and crashes into the battlefield, only to unleash some kickass on the enemies. The style of the game is also dramatically different from Halo, Halo 2 or Halo 3 (Ah, at least they were consistent with the titles. Oh, wait. Halo Wars. Halo: Reach. Yeah, screw you, too.) in that you have a somewhat open world and certain objectives. How you finish them is entirely up to you, whether you go right in the middle, guns blazing, or sneak around the side of the map.

The game takes place in a city named New Mombasa and it is a pretty cool and advanced city, despite being in Kenya (okay, that was my yearly amount of racism. No more of that, I promise). Hell breaks loose and it’s up to you to catch it. There’s a bunch of characters – one of which is modeled after and voiced by Captain Reynolds! Captain Fucking Reynolds! – you play as throughout the game, finishing different objectives such as “kill a lot of bad dudes” and “kill even more bad dudes”. Between the “real” levels you play the Rookie, who fell unconscious when is pod crashed and woke up six hours later, now to find his squadmates by following different clues. When you find a clue, a level starts that has relation to the clue. That is some pretty badass storytelling.

Comparison to Halo 3

Obviously this game was not particularly well received by the community because you are not the Master Chief. Your shields do not regenerate. In fact, you don’t have shields. But you can find a lot of medkits throughout the city. The player character is also allegedly shorter and unable to jump nearly as high as the Master Chief. Because he is, after all, just human. Get over it. This, and the semi-open world, are the biggest differences.

Graphics

As of this moment I have not played ODST on a high definition television, but I will later today, when my mom goes to bed the TV downstairs is unused. But even on the standard definition TV in my room it is stunning, really. The level, the characters, the effects, superb. Looks even better than Halo 3 if you don’t mind me saying.

Multiplayer

Halo was always big on Multiplayer. ODST includes two different multiplayer modes and a little surprise which I will mention later. The one multiplayer mode is Co-Op. I tried to play Co-Op with a friend, but for some reasons I couldn’t connect to his session. Co-Op is a hell of a lot of fun, but connection issues lost most our progress. That’s not the games’ fault, mind you. The other mode is Firefight, which is an endless onslaught of enemies. That is pretty cool, but I always run out of ammo and the good alien weapons are scarce.

The motherload, the main multiplayer part of ODST can be found on the second disc: The entire multiplayer portion of Halo 3. And one DLC pack. That is not only incredibly awesome but it also ensures there’s always matches to be played, even without anyone playing ODST. This also means there is a version of Forge, which is kind of like Garry’s Mod in that you can spawn and manipulate objects. Unfortunately, this version, as opposed to the one found in Halo: Reach, doesn’t allow you to lock objects in place. Still, pretty cool. And I finally get to see all the maps the Recollection series was shot in. Yay!

Sound

The music is entirely different from any other Halo game. As you do not play the Master Chief, the music was redesigned entirely to emphasise just that. Nonetheless it is awesome and fitting. I’ll not even describe it here. Play the game if you got a 360. I paid a whole ten bucks for it and so can you. Herp derp.

Rating: Recommended!
It’s not like other Halo games, but what it is is still pretty darn good.

  1. Oh, Definitely Strange Topic.

      • Althir
      • May 20th, 2011

      Another possibility. I like my version though, makes more sense in context. It’s a meta-sentence. A sentence about itself. What?

  2. Oliver’s Dorky, Silly Trends!

      • Althir
      • May 20th, 2011

      Ach, stop it. There’s other things to say about it than just other suggestions for the title.

      • I’m not renaming the post, I’m commenting on the content!

    • Althir
    • May 20th, 2011

    Mythos :

    I’m not renaming the post, I’m commenting on the content!

    You did neither. That was not a comment on the content in any way.

    • I run the site, I can talk about the damn title all I want!

      Cave Johnson, we’re done here.

        • Althir
        • May 20th, 2011

        Haha, okay. But an opinion would be nice anyways.

  3. Althir :

    Haha, okay. But an opinion would be nice anyways.

    Okay then. Here I go.

    I don’t have a XBox, so I obviously can’t play the game, but I remember following a lot of news about it when it came out. I’m interested by Halo’s lore, and, despite the fact that this game didn’t really expand on the mythology, I found it extremely interesting – more than Halo 3, in fact. I like the idea of getting into this universe but playing not as the omnipotent Master Chief, but as a regular, weaker soldier who’s just trying to survive a hostile city, and the idea of doing pseudo-detective work and playing “flashbacks” is, frankly, ingenious. So yes, I agree with you.

    Oh, by the way, there are two Halo PC games, just so you know. Halo: Combat Evolved and Halo 2. Not just one, as you told me in a chat.

      • Althir
      • May 20th, 2011

      Halo 2 doesn’t count because it doesn’t work on Windows XP. Hehe. But okay.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

