Offline tales

Thu May 12, 12:21 am

For as now of unknown reasons, our Internet connection died around 5 am (rough estimate) yesterday. The router lost connection and was unable to re-establish it. First thing I tried was turning the router off and back on, which did nothing. Then I hooked up the old DSL modem we still had lying around and tried again – no luck either.

My sister called the phone company and they said that there simply was no connection between them and us – Internet-wise, obviously, as the phone still worked. They’ll send a technician around tomorrow around noon to see if there is anything to be done. My guess is that a few kilometers north-west from here the box that forwards the signal has something, but I don’t know for sure. If I wasn’t about to go to bed, I’d get the multimeter and check if it was the cable that connects the splitter to the router. But as the phone company said there is no connection, I don’t think this is it.

A few hours ago, my mom honestly asked me if I suffered from withdrawal. What was I to answer? No, I don’t suffer from Internet withdrawal. It bothers me that I can’t read up on half a dozen webcomics (I guess I should write down the schedule for that one day, most of them only update so often) or check out new Cracked.com articles, but do I suffer from not being able to access the web? I can still play Minecraft, I can still play X-Moto, I can still play all my Xbox-games but one (which is an Indie game and thus has to be played whilst connected to Xbox Live!, at least during startup), I can listen to music and watch movies. And I do all this stuff – I even watched the whole of the first LotR movie today – but usually I do this while surfing the web or chatting. So it is indeed a different experience and quite a lot more boring, but I can live with boredom. Just played a little Halo and since my last checkpoint was saved months ago I walked around there, Flood chasing me, with no idea where the hell to go and I accidentally backtracked a good bit of the level because there was nothing indicating where I should go.

A rather positive effect was that since I couldn’t just waste hours and hours browsing different sites, reading dozens of Cracked.com articles and so on, I got to read some of my Biology stuff. Specifically mitosis and meiosis. Now, I know exactly how all this stuff works, but the names of the different stages I always found hard to memorize (especially the order – telophase, protophase? Huh?). Though it is not certain and relatively unlikely that any of this will even come up in the exam. After all, one of two English exams to choose from last week had absolutely no relation to anything we ever did in class. Needless to say, this was the topic I chose. Hehe.

Thu May 12, 11:14 am

Predictably, no technician has turned up so far. It’s not yet noon, so I guess it makes sense. But I don’t exactly think he will be on time. My bet is 2 pm.

Thu May 12, 12:57 pm

We saw no technician, I assume they sent him to the aforementioned box and now it works again. It was the horror. The horror! Hehe. Alrighty then, off I go, to check out a lot of content from the last day. Bye!

    • Gundam_mk2
    • May 12th, 2011

    Well that suck :P, i use to have problem where my internet disconnect each time someone pick the phone. really ignoring when your playing multiplayer game or downloading something.

  1. EFM is increasingly starting to seem like your personal blog instead of what I wanted to do… not that I’m complaining. Even if it sounds like complaining.

    Anyway, if you don’t have Internet, how come you posted that?
    Also, I wish I had your free time… but hey, this week I didn’t have any classes. And I had a few good moments before I screwed up with my girlfriend and pretty much ruined the rest of the week for both of us, thus dooming me to stay home all week instead of going out to enjoy the Enterro da Gata.

    Yay for me.

      • Althir
      • May 13th, 2011

      My internet came back, as I mentioned in the end. It would seem less like a personal blog if, I don’t know, other people – by which I mean everybody, not just you, I know that you just made a post – started contributing.

      Sorry to hear that about your girlfriend, by the way.

      • It’s fine already, I fixed things. We just had a bit of a misunderstanding.

        Still, while I like to read about you, you are posting stuff here that’s personal.

    • Althir
    • May 13th, 2011

    Mythos :

    It’s fine already, I fixed things. We just had a bit of a misunderstanding.

    Still, while I like to read about you, you are posting stuff here that’s personal.

    Ah, good.

    And when you feel it’s going too far, delete. I take no issue in that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

