Before anyone asks (nobody will anyways)

The exam turned out fine. I’m fairly certain I passed.

A few days ago, I reached 10,000G – Gamescore – on Xbox. And then, I kid you not, minutes after I got an E-Mail from Microsoft in which they gave me two gift codes for free games. That was pretty damn awesome.

But entirely unrelated. See, when I got Xbox LIVE! Gold, they promised me two free games. It was just now that they managed to give them to me.

R-Type Dimensions

As it appears, a port/remake of a classic arcade space shooter and it’s sequel, R-Type II. Yeah, great name, right? Not unlike Monkey Island 2: LeChuck’s Revenge SE, R-Type Dimensions includes the original 1987 2D graphics as well as new 3D graphics. One can switch between the two by pressing Y anytime during gameplay.

And damn, it is hard. There’s two achievements for finishing either game, worth 60G in total. Those can easily be unlocked by just playing in infinite mode, where it matters not how often you die. They are the only two achievements I got. My scrolling shooter skills aren’t nearly enough to last even just the first stage, let alone the entire game.

Rating: Playable.
Wouldn’t have bought it, honestly. But as it was free, I’m not complaining.

The Maw

By the dudes who later made ‘Splosion Man. This is a good sign. The Maw is a 3D puzzle game of sorts, in which you control an alien. The alien has a pet, the aforementioned Maw, which is basically a blob of jelly that eats everything. The game is not too long, but surprisingly entertaining and it has some nice ideas. For instance, in order to eat a fire lizard thing of sorts (the creatures are never named ingame) you first have to put it out by throwing it into water. The more Maw eats, the bigger he grows and in the end, he swallows the planet whole. Haha.

Rating: Recommended!
It’s style and gameplay make this a unique and fun experience, well worthy the ten bucks it would have cost to buy.

And yes, I will keep doing this until… well, forever. Or until I have bought, played and reviewed every single Xbox 360 – game there is. Whichever comes first.

I also managed to finish another chapter in Dead Space. It appears I developed an irrational fear of that game, which I nicknamed “Necrotopophobia”, literally “fear of dead space”. Well, probably not, but I don’t know Greek.

Not so fun fact: Nobody in my IT class knew what “Pong” was.

  1. Actually, I was gonna ask once I found time to get on Steam! So don’t be like that, you’ll hurt my feelings or something.
    Speaking on, I’ll see if I log in later in the evening when I don’t have much to do.

    I remember hearing about The Maw, but I never gave it much attention. I wonder if it’s on PSN (well, you know, once PSN is back online).
    Also, I told you Dead Space was scary. You wouldn’t listen! It’s your bloodly fault!

      • Althir
      • May 8th, 2011

      I know it is scary! But I want to finish it! Two more chapters! But now that the baddest of guys is dead – he could not be killed by the player as his limbs kept growing back – it is a bit less tense. After all, I am armed and armored. Raaargh!
      And you better get online, you… you… Mythos!

    • Gundam_mk2
    • May 9th, 2011

    Come on, you can’t even beat the first stage? well i blame the way it respawn one after you die. normally you spawn right back at where you die but this game spawn you right at the beginning of the stage and what a bitch move.
    And my father beat that game on his tubro 16(retro gaming)
    I can beat gradius v but r-type is a different thing.

    Talking about dead space, my mum told me ” you better not buy this game” after she saw me playing the demo.

    How about resident evil 5?

    so do i call you heartattack or althir now?

      • Althir
      • May 9th, 2011

      The respawn system is a bitch. If it were like Contra, that’d be great. One hit kills I can live with, many arcade games were like that. But sending me back to the checkpoint? That is just lame.
      You let your mom tell you which games to buy? You girl.
      Never played any Resident Evil game, so no comment from me on it.
      And I pretty much dropped HeartAttack a while ago. I use Althir almost everywhere now.

    • Gundam_mk2
    • May 9th, 2011

    If my mom would tell me which game to buy that would have a very lame collection of game, i think gore is the part that she hates and no god of war 3 or mortal kombat for me :(.

    Also i am playing in the living room , so that is the main reason.

      • Althir
      • May 9th, 2011

      I’d like to play in the living room. Because that is where the Full HD TV is. Unfortunately, it has like half a second of delay, which makes it incredibly hard to hit anything – or, in racing games, not to hit anything.
      My parents don’t mind gore, by the way. After all, when they were young all those zombie slasher movies were released.

        • Gundam_mk2
        • May 10th, 2011

        My mum puke after watching the first alien when it first release. So no go for gore .

  2. Gundam_mk2 :

    My mum puke after watching the first alien when it first release. So no go for gore .

    Too much information, man.

      • Gundam_mk2
      • May 10th, 2011

      :/….. and mythos psn better give the best 5 games on psn, not some hamster ball game. if not, they will taste the rage of fanboys

      • They better give me Scott Pilgrim vs. the World and lara Croft! I was gonna buy those when the system went kaput.

    • Althir
    • May 10th, 2011

    Mythos :

    They better give me Scott Pilgrim vs. the World and lara Croft! I was gonna buy those when the system went kaput.

    Do you mean the Guardian of Light? That’s a pretty funny game, but extremely different from the whole Tomb Raider concept. Gameplay-wise, that it.

    • Yep. It seemed pretty good from the demo and reviews.

        • Althir
        • May 10th, 2011

        I think I rated it “playable” back then. But it’s actually quite enjoyable. Wouldn’t have bought it without the discount though.
        And Maw is not on PSN. According to Wikipedia at least.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

