And on it goes

With the new games, I mean. Two of them this time, both are games I had before. I’m rebuilding my game library on the Xbox, it appears.

Earlier this week, I bought Guitar Hero III off Amazon. Game only, as I already have the guitar from the PC-version (which is the guitar Guitar Hero II ships with on the Xbox), for fifteen bucks. As shipping is free over twenty bucks, I also ordered 800 MS-Points for another ten euros. That, and an additional 500 MSP bought from within the Xbox Dashboard, left me with 1320 points. Most XBLA-games are either 800 or 1200, so I had a lot to choose from. Many games. I downloaded a dozen trial versions of absolutely stunning games – and also Super Meat Boy, which I found to be a little dull honestly. Section 8: Prejudice is a very awesome shooter, I must say. In the end, I had to choose between two: Portal: Still Alive and Torchlight. Given that Still Alive was 15 bucks (1200 MSP) and on Amazon UK you can get the entire Orange Box for 15 pounds, Torchlight was the obvious choice. Or was it? After playing through the trial version of Portal twice, my common sense finally beat my playfulness and before another argument between the two could start, I quickly clicked “Unlock Full Game” in Torchlicht. Hehe.

Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock

On August 22nd, 2008 (which happened to be my birthday), I got GHIII on PC. Played it a lot, got my ass kicked on hard difficulty by Slayer, Metallica and Iron Maiden. Ouchie. As it appears to be unable to run on Linux (oddly, since I tried that already about a year ago and lag aside, it worked fine), I acquired the Xbox-version. Essentially the exact same game, except that this version has DLC. Among others, the Halo Theme Mjolnir Mix, which is an extremely awesome guitar track.

By now I even beat all the tracks that kicked my ass back then, only to get it kicked some more by the Devil himself. His name is Lou. GHIII is claimed to be the hardest of the series and whereas I have not played any other Guitar Hero game, save for a few demos (I beat Van Halen’s Eruption on Hard!) I can definitely believe that. The achievements are outrageous. “Beat Through the Fire and Flames on Expert” – an achievement aptly named “The Impossible Achievement”. No kidding. If you know Through the Fire and Flames, you probably know it because of it’s insane difficulty in Guitar Hero III (I actually knew it two years prior to me getting the game. I feel special now).

Rating: Recommended!
It has nothing to do with playing the guitar whatsoever, but it is a lot of fun and actually playing the real guitar helped getting some of the solos done. Hm. It is insanely hard though and many achievements require finishing on Expert.

Torchlight

The guys who made Diablo went along and created this masterpiece of a hack & slay. It is the spiritual successor to Diablo and Diablo 2 (and the Tristram Town theme was actually the basis for the Torchlight Town theme if you listen closely), plays great and so blargh. I don’t want to praise it too much, really. The Xbox-Version is somewhat different from the PC in that most of the GUI differs greatly. Which makes sense, since you don’t exactly have a keyboard or mouse on the console. I mean, you could plug them into the USB-ports, but they wouldn’t work. I think Half-Life on the PS2 could be played that way… hm.

Rating: Recommended!
If you like Diablo, you’ll find this game to be extraordinary. It is excellent.

Last night, while I waited for some of the trial versions to download, I took the time to organize my games, DVDs and CDs. Threw out a bunch of stuff, among them the PC-versions of GH3 (anyone interested? Shipping only, for I have absolutely no use for it whatsoever) and BioShock. Now everything is neatly organized, sorted by type and alphabet.

That is it gaming-wise for now. So now it’s time for the bad news.

Next Wednesday is my first final exam and I have not learned one bit for it. But that’s unnecessary anyways, as it is the English exam and, well, let’s just say I didn’t need to think before writing this. I will, however, refresh my knowledge before the Biology exam on Friday the 13th (holy crap!) and probably even learn a little for the politics exam. We will see.

Fun Fact: You can actually catch more flies with vinegar than with honey.

  1. God, I miss you.

    Also, it’s hack and slash, not hack and slay.

      • Althir
      • April 29th, 2011

      I don’t give a damn about what it is called. Either of these two describes the game equally.
      And I miss you, too.

      • I’ll soon be back on Steam, I promise!

  2. i got guitar hero 3 but i really can’t get into it since 5 button is too much for me,my last 2 finger does not coordinate well.
    Its now sitting in my room collecting dust

    But hey i just got just cause 2

      • Althir
      • May 1st, 2011

      You do know that an actual guitar has six strings and 22 frets? On top of that, I am fairly certain that Herman Li of DragonForce has approx. nineteen fingers on his left hand.

        • Gundam_mk2
        • May 2nd, 2011

        if i cannot even play guitar hero, no way i can play a real guitar :P.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

