Something to help pass the time

Hello there! As Althir mentioned, I’m having exams these days (in fact, my next one is nine hours from now, so I really should go sleep). As such, I’m on a short comic hiatus, though I intend to go back to making SUBPRIME by the end of next week. Really!

Anyway, I decided to just post something new here, to make you guys know I’m still in the field, just temporarily away. So here’s my proposed (i.e. still replaceable) cover for a complete edition of SUBPRIME:

Click for biggie!

What do you think? Too dark, maybe? Too empty? Or moody and desolate, as it should feel? I’m also not sure if the title isn’t hard to read…
Well, anyway, I can still alter it, so give me your feedback!

If you guys don’t know what the heck’s the picture about, that’s the memory replacement machine the Combine use to turn willing Civil Protection officers into Combine soldiers. Yes, it’s canon, and yes, it’s even in the game files (though I had to modifiy it a bit so I could put Alyx in there). And no, I don’t intend to release that model right now, but we’ll see.

For the record, I’m still planning on at least trying to make a “Special Edition” downloadable PDF version of the comic. That is, with alternate cover(s) (I have an alternate one, and I might do a few more), behind-the-scenes stuff (such as a picture of a secret model that I made that originated the whole story!) and even two pages of my first attempt at making this comic a few months ago.
If the PDF thing doesn’t work as I want it to, well, I’ll post that stuff as a blog post. It’s easier to access, but it’ll look less cool.

Well, see ya later next week, guys!

    • CJR
    • April 8th, 2011

    While I definitely like it, I have to agree that the title’s a bit hard to read. I think the sparsity works, but possibly needs a bit more in the way of contrast.

    • SargentGunney
    • April 8th, 2011

    I think a few combine monitors would work well on the right side.

    • But she’s high above the ground! Nobody has monitors ten meters up.:o

        • Althir
        • April 9th, 2011

        Then how do Striders watch TV?

  1. Althir :

    Then how do Striders watch TV?

    They have a wireless setup on their brains. That’s why Dog was ripping one up, he wanted to watch Lost’s finale.

      • Althir
      • April 9th, 2011

      I highly doubt that. Given the setting of the first game (according to Wikipedia sometime 200x), Episode 2 takes place in 202x and in the time that the Lost finale would be made the shit is likely to already have hit the fan. It is unlikely that the Combine would let them continue to make this stuff.

      • Reruns, dude. Reruns.

        (Also sorry for not logging into Steam, but I’m studying and checking my e-mail.)

    • Althir
    • April 9th, 2011

    Mythos :

    Reruns, dude. Reruns.

    (Also sorry for not logging into Steam, but I’m studying and checking my e-mail.)

    (That’s okay. Studying is more important than me. Or at least I can pretend it were more important.)

  1. May 9th, 2011
    Trackback from : Wallpapers! « EFM

Leave a Reply

