Would I seem smarter if I used many long words?

Due to his exams, Mythos will likely be absent for a while. You know, learning and stuff. I guess I should get on with that, too, but… eh. Fuck it. If I don’t make it, I don’t make it.

This post has little to no meaning, really. I just do this because I feel like it and very much have nothing else to do whatsoever. Because I suck at Monday Night Combat. And every other Multiplayer shooter, for that matter.

There’s two recent additions to my XBox library:

Monkey Island 2: LeChuck’s Revenge Special Edition

I already expressed my opinion about Monkey Island in a previous post, and LeChuck’s Revenge has always been my favorite part of the series. When I logged into XBox Live a few days ago, there was an entry with cheap XBLA games. MI2 was among them, at a 50% discount. I got myself 500 MS-Points (Which would be 6,25€, but they only charge 6€, so yay!) and spent 400 (5€) of those on Monkey Island. The game itself is… well, it is Monkey Island 2: LeChuck’s Revenge with fancier graphics and voices. The controls take a lot to get used to, especially if one is familiar with the original SCUMM-Interface that the first two Monkey Island – games, Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis and countless others which I am too lazy to look up right now have in common. For a few scenes I had to switch back to the original 1992 graphics (Which can be done by pressing “Back”, which is the XBox-Version of “Select”) so that I can get Guybrush to walk where I wanted. The one feature I missed (mostly because I’m so used to it) was the difficulty setting before starting the game. Not that it matters, I have finished LeChuck’s Revenge on Hard at least a dozen times on the PC. Which brings me to the biggest disappointment:

Like most XBLA-games, MI2SE has twelve achievements. Four of them can not be missed throughout the story, as they are essentially completing the chapters. One is finishing the game in under three hours, one is to let Guybrush die (which is harder than it sounds unless you know where you have to do something – or nothing, for that matter)… I got every last of these achievements. In a single playthrough. I needed like two and a half hours and that is calculating in the shower I took while the game was running.

Rating: Recommended!
It is still Monkey Island 2: LeChuck’s Revenge and it is still my favorite game of all time. So play it. That is an order.

The Impossible Game Level Pack

Doesn’t sound very thrilling. But that’s because it isn’t. It’s essentially another two levels in The Impossible Game, both of which are incredibly hard and confusing – several times more so than the original level (which I also haven’t beaten yet). The two levels come with their own distinct soundtrack, which is quite badass for not being Metal. I only bought it because I had a few leftover points from Monkey Island (120 in total, I still had 20 from the time I purchased Minesweeper Flags and The Impossible Game) so there’s that.

Rating: Holy. Fuck.
I mean, what? Crap. This is really fucking hard.

I also got myself XBL Gold a few days ago. The major disappointment about XBL Gold is that you need it in order to play online – and it costs. I do believe that PS3-owners fanboys will use this as an argument against the Xbox 360, but online gaming wasn’t a priority to me when I bought the console either way.

It’s been a hell of a bargain: Twenty bucks for six months plus two games. Now, I’ll calculate this for ya:

XBox LiveAgain, I paid a mere twenty. That means I saved over forty bucks. Well, no. In fact this means that I still spent twenty bucks. But you get the general idea.

I also found out that most of the guys in NFS Hot Pursuit who have a level 20 ranking (that’s the highest) can’t drive worth shit. Those numbers really mean a lot, eh?

    • SargentGunney
    • April 2nd, 2011

    Wanna play Airsoft?

    • Airsoft is for huge nerds who think they’re cool.

        • SargentGunney
        • April 4th, 2011

        TAKE

        THAT

        BACK

  1. Posting is also a good way of reaching me, actually, because EFM is my default browser page, so I end up finding new posts even if I don’t intend to get distracted (like, uh, now).
    But don’t turn this into a message board or you’ll get FIRED! (Although, uh, you’re not actually paid for anything)

    Also I’m jealous of you having too much free time.

    • Althir
    • April 5th, 2011

    SargentGunney :

    TAKE

    THAT

    BACK

    Why would he? He is right. Airsoft is retarded in every conceivable way.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

